Yorke Claims Match Play Title, Welton Player of the Year

Tim Yorke of the Anderson’s Creek Golf Club captured the 2011 PEIGA Match Play Championship this weekend at Fox Meadow. The event which is sponsored by RBC is the the final event for the season. Sixteen of the top players from the PEIGA Amateur Player Rankings started Saturday morning in the single elimination tournament. By Sunday afternoon the field was down to Yorke and Chris Welton from Belvedere GC. Yorke defeated Martin O’Brien from Mill River 2 and 1 in one semi-final Sunday morning. In the other semi-final Welton defeated Dave Shellington from Belvedere on the 21st hole.

That set up the final match Sunday afternoon in which Yorke and Welton battled it out until the 20th hole before Yorke could claim victory.

This weekend also determined the PEIGA Moosehead Player of the Year Award. Chris Welton narrowly defeated Martin O’Brien for the award. The award is based on points awarded in all of the PEIGA sanctioned tournaments during the summer. Welton who claimed the PEIGA Amateur early this summer also had 3 second place finishes this season. This is the first Player of the Year award for Welton.

2011 PEIGA Moosehead Player of the Years Top 20

 Chris Welton  470.7
 Martin O’Brien   427.5
 Tim Yorke  395
 John Schurman  316.7
 Greg MacAulay  267.5
 Brodie MacGregor  240
 Dave Shellington  220
 Jeff MacEachern  157.5
 Cody MacKay  135
 Andrew Coady  123.8
 Matt Wood  123.3
 Nick Arsenault  117.5
 Mike Irwin  98.8
 Robbie Younker  90
 Ryan Garrett  90
 Rich Little  81.7
 Dave Herring  70
 Andrew Dunning  67.5
 Wade Hunter  62.5
Anthony Warren

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Overal Rating
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

Comments are closed.